Royal Chicken Dish | Ројал пилешко [♫Ozzy Osbourne – Mama, I’m Coming Home]

♫ Ozzy Osbourne – Mama, I’m Coming Home♫

Chicken and rice is my ultimate favorite dish to eat.  It reminds me of my childhood happy days, of coziness, comfort and peace. Nothing beats chicken and rice for me. Usually, I like to roast whole chicken in the oven with potatoes, all in one pot. This type of dish is common for the Balkan families. On Sunday, whole family gathers together and enjoys the Sunday lunch with mezze, salad, rakia, wine, freshly baked bread… I remember going to my grandparents house on Sunday. She would serve us home made chicken noodle soup, than roasted whole chicken with rice or potatoes, salad of some sort and home made cake with cocoa and vanilla. Unfortunately, we did’t visit my grandparents to often, I don’t know why but this memory will be in my mind forever. I was feeling so cosy, comfy and relaxed. And the food was incredible. Every person will tell you that his/her grandmother prepares the most delicious food and so will I. And banitsa… She prepares banitsa so good.

This dish I made was inspired by my grandmother, Perka. With mushrooms and some cream, this was one perfect comfort dish. This is how I made it.Royal chicken dish [Ozzy Osbourne - Mama, I'm Coming Home] 1

Royal chicken dish

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole chicken or 2 chicken breasts
  • 2 cups of fresh mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup of heavy cream
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 cup of rice
  • salt and pepper
  • mustard
  • dry dill and garlic powder
  • oregano
  • evoo

Prep: Wash and dry the chicken or chicken breasts. Season with salt, pepper, evoo and rub the chicken with mustard and dry garlic powder. Put the chicken in a roasting tray, cover with aluminium foil and roast the chicken for about 35-40 minutes. It all depends of the chicken. If its small, maybe less, if its large, maybe longer. Remove the foil 10 minutes before the chicken is cooked and cook until the crust is golden brown. Let it rest and cool a bit. Chop the chicken into long stripes.

Cook 1 cup of rice with 2 cups of water. Season with salt and pepper. When cooked, sprinkle with dry dill.

In a skillet, saute the onions until soft. Add the garlic and carrots. Add the mushrooms and saute them until they get some color. Season with salt, pepper and oregano. Add the chicken pieces in the sauce. At the end, add some cream, stir, let it bubble and the its done.

2 thoughts on “Royal Chicken Dish | Ројал пилешко [♫Ozzy Osbourne – Mama, I’m Coming Home]

Leave a Reply

